What about safety in Dix Lunes birth center?

+ Is giving birth a Birthing Center as safe as in a hospital?

Absolutely. Various studies show this fact: less interventions and less participants are resulting in safer labour and delivery for women with a normal pregnancy and assumably normal birth (and only these women are admitted to the birth center). The babies also show better health in birthing centers than at the hospital, they are two times less often transferred to NICU.
This surprising situations is due to miscellaneous reasons; some of it is explained by the fact that birth centers allow mothers to take their time, supportive attendance instead of interventions, not trying to dominate a physiological process, freedom of movement, a non-scary environment which is inspiring serenity and therefore, makes the mother release much less stress hormones...
Some souces: http://www.nice.org.uk/guidance/cg190 or also the Dr Borel study done in french-speaking Switzerland http://www.espritsagefemme.ch/wa_files/ETUDE_20BOREL.pdf.

+ What do you do if complications arise?

At Dix Lunes, as in all Swiss Birth Centers, we admit only women, whose pregnancies show all indications of the ability to give birth perfectly smooth. Correspondingly, the rate of births needing medical intervention in a hospital is extremely low at Dix Lunes. the transfer rate is about 10 to 15%, varying slightly from year to year. This is equivalent to the average of birthing centers in Switzerland.
As complications are almost never appearing all of a sudden, but give notice by various prediction indications, the midwife has enough time at hand to organize disposition accordingly. Incidentally, the majority of these transfers is done without urgency in the majority of situations, using your own personal vehicule, but if required by the situation, we call for an ambulance.

+ What can cause the need to transfer to a hospital unit?

Fatigue, labour that stalled for too long, labor which does not start for too long after the water's broken, an unfavorable position of the baby, wish to get an epidural, baby struggling to sustain contractions, heavy bleeding, retention of the placenta, required monitoring of the baby in NICU surveillance.

+ In case a transfer is required, is there an ambulance within striking distance?

We ask women and couples coming to Dix Lunes, to have a vehicule at hand in front of the birthing center during labor and delivery. In the vast majority of cases, the transfer is done without urgency in the majority of situations, using your own personal vehicule. If needed, ambulances are positioned 5 minutes from the birth center.

+ And what if the baby needs to be revitalized?

We have all the required reanimation material at hand (ventilation mask, oxygen, ...) and we undergo frequent continuing training.

+ What are you doing in case of hemorrhage?

This severe complication is particularely sparse in natural births. It arises mainly in induced labor, and in labor where contractions where intensified using medication, as well as in births using instrumentation such as forceps and vacuum. Nevertheless, we take this probability very seriousely due to its worrying nature. It is the main reason why we are asking you to stay for observation during the first couple of hours after birth. If needed, we dispose of appropriate emergency medication and organize a transfer to hospital.

+ My OB / gynecologist advises me against birthing centers.

Birthing centers are still not well known and recognized for their work and common public interest in the health sector, even though there are 21 of it in Switzerland and they are approved by the Swiss Health Insurance LAMal since 2004. Over 1400 children are born within these structures each year, and their number is constantly increasing.
Numerous gynecologists are sceptical and think that birth can happen safely only in a hospital, and do not understand that midwifery training nowadays is high quality education instructed at ambitious "Hautes Ecoles de Santé" (superior schools of health), and therefore this profession has nothing to do with the matrones in the past, who passed over their skills from mother to daughter.
Some Birthing Centers figure even on the hospital list and are therefore considered as a hospital facility! This is not the case for Dix Lunes and many other facilities, as this requires very important administrative investments, which are too heavy to bear for such small structures.

+ Who will accompany me when I am transferred to a hospital?

In case the transfer is done in your personal vehicule, it will be your partner / your entourage who will drive to the hospital. Your midwife will follow you, she will be present during admission to hospital and hand over to the hospital team. In case of an ambulance transfer, the person accompanying you will have to drive to the hospital in his own vehicule, as the woman will be in the ambulance with the midwife. Your midwife will back out after handing over the medical record to the care team.

Qu'en est-il de la sécurité en Maison de Naissance?

+ Est-ce qu'un accouchement en Maison de Naissance est aussi sûr qu'en clinique / hôpital?

Tout à fait. Des nombreuses études relèvent ce fait : moins d'interventions et moins d'intervenants équivalent à plus de sécurité pour des femmes dont tout laisse présager un accouchement normal (et seules ces femmes sont admises en Maison de Naissance). Les bébés quant à eux, présentent une meilleure santé en maison de naissance qu'à l'hôpital et sont deux fois moins souvent transférés au service de néonatologie.
Cette situation surprenante à des raisons multiples; une partie peut s'expliquer par le fait de laisser le temps aux mères, accompagner au lieu d'intervenir, ne pas vouloir maîtriser un processus physiologique, la liberté de mouvement, l'environnement non-anxiogène qui inspire la sérénité et fait secréter moins d'hormones de stress...
Quelques liens sources : http://www.nice.org.uk/guidance/cg190 ou encore l'etude du Dr Borel effectuée en Suisse Romande http://www.espritsagefemme.ch/wa_files/ETUDE_20BOREL.pdf.

+ Qu'est-ce que vous faites en cas de complications?

À Dix Lunes comme dans toute Maison de Naissance en Suisse, nous accueillons uniquement des femmes enceintes dont tout indique que l'accouchement se déroulera parfaitement bien. Par conséquent, le taux d'accouchements à Dix Lunes nécessitant une intervention en milieu hospitalier est extrêmement bas. Le taux de transfert se situe entre 10 et 15%, variant légèrement d'année en année. C'est équivalent à la moyenne des Maisons de Naissance en Suisse. Comme des complications ne se présentent quasiment jamais tout d'un coup, mais s'annoncent au moyen de signes précurseurs, la sage-femme a le temps nécessaire pour prendre les dispositions nécessaires. D'ailleurs, l'extrême majorité de ces transferts se fait sans urgence, au moyen d'un véhicule privé.

+ Qu'est-ce qui peut nécessiter un transfert?

Une fatigue maternelle, une stagnation du travail trop importante, un travail qui ne débute pas pendant trop longtemps alors que la poche des eaux s'est rompue, une position du bébé non favorable, souhait de péridurale, bébé supportant mal les contractions, saignement important, rétention de placenta, surveillance du bébé nécessaire en service de néonatalogie.

+ Lorsqu'un transfert est nécessaire, est-ce qu'il y a une ambulance à proximité?

Nous demandons aux femmes et couples accouchant à Dix Lunes, d'avoir un véhicule à disposition devant la Maison de Naissance le temps de l'accouchement. Dans l'immense majorité des cas, les transferts se font sans urgence, avec leur véhicule privé. En cas de besoin, des ambulances sont stationnées à 5 minutes.

+ Et s'il faut réanimer le bébé?

Nous disposons de tout le matériel de réanimation nécessaire (masque, oxygène,..) et suivons des cours de formation continue régulièrement.

+ Que faites-vous dans le cas d'une hémorragie?

Cette complication grave est particulièrement rare lors des accouchements naturels. Elle survient principalement lors d'accouchements provoqués artificiellement ou après que l'on ait administré des médicaments intensifiant les contractions, ou encore lors d'accouchement instrumentés. Cependant, c'est une probabilité que nous prenons particulièrement au sérieux de par sa nature préoccupante. C'est la raison principale pour laquelle nous vous demandons de rester quelques heures après l'accouchement pour observation. En cas de besoin, nous disposons des médicaments d’urgence et organisons le transfert vers l’hôpital.

+ Mon gynécologue me déconseille les Maisons de Naissance.

Les Maisons de Naissance sont encore mal connues et mal reconnues pour leur travail d’utilité publique dans le réseau de santé, même s’il y en a 21 dans toute la Suisse et qu’elles sont inscrites dans la LAMal depuis 2004. Plus de 1400 enfants voient le jour chaque année en Maison de Naissance et ce chiffre est en augmentation constante.
Nombreux sont les gynécologues sceptiques qui pensent qu’une naissance ne peut se dérouler qu’en milieu hospitalier, et qui ne comprennent pas que la formation des sages-femmes est de très bonne qualité, dispensée dans des Hautes Ecoles de Santé exigeantes et que ce métier n’a plus rien à voir avec les matrones d’antan qui se transmettaient le savoir de mère en fille.
Certaines Maisons de Naissance sont même inscrites sur la liste hospitalière et sont donc considérées comme un établissement hospitalier! Ceci n’est pas le cas de la Maison de Naissance Dix Lunes et de bien d’autres structures qui ne peuvent appliquer les exigences administratives d’une telle démarche de par leur petite taille.

+ Qui est-ce qui m'accompagne lors d'un transfert et dans l'institution médicalisée?

Lors d'un transfert en véhicule privé, c'est votre partenaire / la personne qui vous accompagne lors de l'accouchement qui va vous conduire à l'hôpital. La sage-femme vous suivra, sera présente lors de l'admission et vous remettra entre les mains de l'équipe médicale. Dans le cas d'un transfert en ambulance, la personne accompagnante devra se rendre seule en véhicule privé à l'hôpital, la femme se trouvant dans l'ambulance avec la sage-femme. La sage-femme se retire après avoir fait le rapport à l’équipe de soignant dans tous les cas.