The Birthing Center

Birthing Centers are independent healt and birth facilities, managed exclusively by midwifes. They provide a valid alternative to maternity wards in hospitals and clinics, and enable to give birth outside of the traditional medical environment.
They enable and aim towards to most natural birth.

Birthing Centers allow you to configure your surroundings actively according to your desires. Freedom of movement and choice of various positions are elated ; watherbirth is possible ; it is up to you to choose your preferred music or fragrance…

The transition into motherhood is an important time in the life of a woman. At Dix Lunes, we place emphasis on enabling each woman to give birth her own way finding and using her own strenghts. We are working towards transmitting the sense of confidence in the ability of giving birth and welcoming the child into the family.

In order to meet the demand of numerous parents, the birth center Dix Lunes is located in Puplinge, in the Geneva countryside, and provides an opportunity of a post-partum stay for the new family. It opened in 2009, and it's Geneva's first birth center.

We would like to cordially invite you to visit Dix Lunes. Tours are organized each first saturday of the month at 10 am, upon registration in advance by calling or texting 079 744 74 84 (voicemail activated), or via email form

Midwifes of Dix Lunes take care of the women and couples throughout the entire perinatal period. Beside thes pecialised one-to-one care, which means each woman/couple is accompanied by the samde midwife for the entirety of pregnancy, throughout labour and natural birth and also during the postpartum period, their practice is based on several fundamental principles:
• Providing professional and personalized care and support to the mother-to-be and couple, allowing them to be confident about the processes of birth and experience it as something positive.
• Providing global support to the mother-to-be, which includes: prevention advice and pregnancy consultations, professional assistance and support during birth, and care and advice for the mother, baby and couple in the period following the birth.
• Facilitating and stimulation of natural physiological processes in order to resort to medical and technical interventions only when required. Identify, anticipate and manage possible complications.
• In case of need, guarantee quick and efficient transfer to other competent health care professionals (e.g. ambulance, hospital).

La Maison de Naissance

Les Maisons de Naissance sont des structures de santé et d'accouchement indépendantes, gérées exclusivement par des sages-femmes. Elles offrent une vraie alternative aux maternités et cliniques, vous pouvez y accoucher hors du cadre médical traditionnel.
Elles favorisent l'accouchement naturel (physiologique).

Les Maisons de Naissance permettent de façonner activement l’environnement à la manière que vous souhaitez. La liberté de mouvement et le choix de positions multiples sont encouragées ; la naissance dans l’eau est possible ; libre à vous de choisir votre musique, votre senteur préférée…

La maternité est un moment exceptionnel dans la vie d'une femme. À Dix Lunes, nous mettons tout en oeuvre pour donner les moyens à chaque femme d'accoucher de ses propres forces et selon ses souhaits. Nous souhaitons transmettre la confiance en la capacité de donner la vie et d'accueillir l'enfant au sein de la famille.

Afin de répondre à la demande de nombreux parents, la Maison de Naissance Dix Lunes est installée à Puplinge, dans la campagne genevoise et offre la possibilité d'un séjour post natal pour la nouvelle famille. Elle est ouverte depuis l'été 2009, c'est la première Maison de Naissance du canton.

Pour vous faire votre propre idée, nous vous invitons chaleureusement à visiter Dix Lunes. Les visites sont organisées, le 1er samedi de chaque mois à 10h, sur inscription préalable au 079 744 74 84 (répondeur) ou par formulaire email.

Les sages-femmes de l'équipe de Dix Lunes prennent soin des femmes et des couples pendant la période périnatale. Outre le suivi global, c’est-à-dire l’accompagnement par une seule et même sage-femme tout au long de la grossesse, pendant l’accouchement et après la naissance, leur pratique s'appuie sur quelques principes fondamentaux:
• Offrir à la future mère et au couple, un soutien professionnel et personnalisé pour vivre mieux et en toute confiance le processus de la naissance.
• Offrir à la future mère un accompagnement global: par des conseils de prévention et des consultations durant la grossesse, par une assistance professionnelle pendant l'accouchement naturel et en prodiguant des soins et des conseils avisés à la mère, au bébé, et au couple dans la période qui suit la naissance.
• Faciliter et stimuler les processus physiologiques naturels pour n'avoir recours aux interventions techniques et médicales, seulement en cas de nécessité. Identifier, anticiper et gérer les éventuelles complications.
• Garantir une prise en charge rapide et efficace en cas d'urgence par les services compétents: ambulance, hôpitaux.